About Us

The Dallas Area Parkinsonism Society (DAPS) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 1978 by Clarice Dougherty to help her husband and others confront the daily challenges presented by Parkinson's disease (PD). Thousands of lives have been changed for the better because of Clarice's mission and the dedication of the many volunteers who have followed her.

DAPS serves as a resource for the Parkinson’s community by providing education, speech and exercise classes, and support groups. DAPS services and programs are provided free of charge for participants. The services page offers a more detailed description of our programs and services. Our groups page provides access to maps and a listing of class times and locations.

DAPS depends on memberships, donations, honorariums and fundraisers. In addition, DAPS is able to fulfill our mission thanks to the kindness of individuals and families who have been so touched by our services that they remember us in their wills, trusts, and foundations.

DAPS has an Executive Director, an Administrative Associate, and several professionally trained therapists; everything else is accomplished by dedicated volunteers. By volunteering and becoming a part of our family, people with PD and their care partners can find new purpose in life, sustaining them through difficult times.

DAPS’ strong and caring Board of Directors includes people with Parkinson’s, family members, and others in the community with an interest in fighting this disease. Our Advisory Council provides frequent input about how we can best serve the community through our mission: DAPS is dedicated to impacting and improving the lives of those affected by Parkinson's disease.

  • Executive Director

  • Mike Miles
  • Board of Directors

  • Chad Swank, Ph.D., President
  • Barbara Glass, Vice President
  • Greg Wood, Treasurer
  • Ann Heidger, Secretary
  • Jim Struble, Advisory Council Liaison
  • Dusty Berry
    Chris Clausen
    Bentley Foster
  • Harold Kellogg
  • Jo Klein
    Mary Ellen Malone
  • Chick Martin
  • Fred Ransdell
    Terry Spear
    Heather Stevens
  • Marilyn Stewart
  • Bob Vlach



  • Advisory Council

  • Sarah Atwood
  • Jean Blomquist
  • Ben Casey
  • Carlie Dorshaw-Moe
  • Pat Goukler
    Shirley Hand
  • Gavin Mogan
  • Charlene Noe
  • Sandi Pautler
  • Joyce Susman
    ​Barbara Taylor
    Cindy Weatherall
  • Medical Advisory Board

  • Shilpa Chitnis, MD, Ph.D.
  • Richard B. Dewey, Jr., M.D.
  • Richard L. Fulbright, Ph.D.
  • Dwight C. German, Ph.D.
  • R. Malcolm Stewart, M.D.
  • Gary L. Tunell, M.D.